Managing Clients Estimated Reading Time: 5 Minutes The Client Profile page shows the information about a client. On this page, you can edit the client, manage the tags of the client, see similar clients, and deactivate the client. Open a client profile Click Clients in the left menu. Find the client in the client list, or use Search at the top of the page. Click the client ID or the client name. The Client Profile page opens. The menus at the top of the page open the other pages of the client, for example Services, Billing, and Comments. Edit a client To edit the client, do one of these steps: Click Edit Client at the top of the page. Click edit in a box on the page. The Edit Client window has these tabs: Tab Information Contact Info The name, company, address, phone, fax, email, and language of the client Billing The billing settings of the client Account Info The account settings of the client Custom Fields The client custom fields Change the information, then click Save. Change the email address of a client The email address of a client is protected by your password. On the Contact Info tab, click edit next to Email. To stop, click cancel. Type the new email address. Click Save. Type your password when Ubersmith asks for it. If you do not type your password, Ubersmith shows "Your password is required to edit the Email". If the password is not correct, Ubersmith shows "The password is invalid". The boxes on the Client Profile page Box Information Address & Contact Information The name, company, address, VAT ID, email, phone, fax, and language of the client Billing Summary The balances and billing settings of the client Account Information The account settings of the client, for example the default ticket priority and the overdue notice settings User Relationships The staff members that have a relationship with the client, for example a salesperson or an account manager Custom Fields The client custom fields Login Information The client portal login of the client Permissions The client portal permissions of the client Authorized Contacts The contacts of the client. For more information, refer to the article "Managing Contacts". Similar Clients Other clients that have similar information Tags The tags of the client Latest Comment The most recent comment on the client Master Service Agreement The master service agreement (MSA) of the client Reports The outstanding invoices and payments of the client Click edit in Login Information to change the client portal password of the client. Click edit in Permissions to change the client portal permissions of the client. For more information about the permissions that control access to these boxes, refer to the article "Client, Contact, and Leads Permission Details". Billing Summary The Billing Summary box shows the balances of the client and the billing settings. To change the billing settings, click edit. The Edit Client window opens on the Billing tab. Account Information The Account Information box shows the account settings of the client. To change the account settings, click edit. The Edit Client window opens on the Account Info tab. Similar Clients The Similar Clients box shows other clients that can be the same person or company. Ubersmith shows a client in this box if one of these is true: The first name and last name sound like the name of this client. The company name sounds like the company of this client. The phone number is the same. The email address contains the email address of this client. If a similar client is not the same person or company, you can dismiss it: Click dismiss in the row of the client. Click Yes to confirm. The client does not show in the box again. To see dismissed clients, click show dismissed clients. To show a dismissed client in the box again, click rematch. To see more than the first similar clients, click view all. To select which clients show in the Similar Clients box, go to Settings > Clients > General Settings. In Show similar, select Active Clients, Deactivated Clients, or Active Leads. If you clear all the options, the box does not show. Tags Tags help you sort and find clients. To add a tag to a client: In the Tags box, click add tag. Select a tag from the list. To add a new tag, click new tag, then type the tag. If the client has all of the tags, type the new tag. Click Add. To remove a tag from a client, click the X next to the tag. Click Yes to confirm. To edit all of the tags, click edit all tags. Deactivate a client When you deactivate a client, Ubersmith does these actions: Deactivates all services and credits of the client. Deletes the queued charges of the client. Disregards the outstanding invoices of the client. Deletes the billing methods of the client, for example credit cards and bank accounts. Removes the IP address assignments of the client. Removes the client from its devices. Deactivates the contracts of the client, if you use contracts. When you reactivate a client, Ubersmith does not restore services, contracts, credits, queued charges, invoices, billing methods, IP assignments, or devices. Make sure that you want to deactivate the client before you continue. Open the client profile. Click Deactivate Client. Read the warning. Click Deactivate Client to deactivate the client. To stop, click Cancel. Ubersmith shows the client list with the message "client ID deactivated successfully." You can also deactivate a client with the client.deactivate API method. For more information, refer to the article "Using the Ubersmith API". Reactivate a client Open the profile of the deactivated client. Click Reactivate Client. Click Reactivate Client to confirm. To stop, click Cancel. Ubersmith reactivates the client account only. Add the services and billing methods of the client again if necessary. You can also reactivate a client with the client.reactivate API method. To deactivate a client, you must have the delete permission for client profiles. To reactivate a client, you must have the create permission for client profiles. For more information about how to add a client, refer to the article "Adding Clients".